Looking back at 2016

It’s now 2017.  A new year is upon us.  I thought it would be a fitting time to look back at what happened to me in 2016.  It was a year filled with healthy habits, a new friendship and productivity in the arts.

In 2016, I stuck to a regular schedule of working out and being physically active.  I went to the gym four times a week.  On Mondays and Wednesdays, I would get to the gym around 7:15 am, and start my workout with strength training.  Then, I would go swimming for about half an hour.  This was followed by about an hour and a half of recreational badminton.  On Tuesdays and Fridays, I would just do strength training and swimming.   I think this routine has kept me from gaining weight and probably has a variety of other benefits.  One of the other benefits is that it has likely prevented depression from taking a hold on me.

Socially, I met a good friend in 2016.  I was introduced to my new friend through the social worker who was working on the ACT (Assertive Community Treatment) team.  She told me that another client, who was also high functioning and had an educated background, wanted to meet other clients similar to herself to befriends with.  So she arranged for us to meet for coffee. It worked out well.  As it turned out we had a lot in common.  We both suffered from psychosis, and were on the same medication.  We got together many times after the first initial meeting.  We went out for coffee, lunch, shopping, music concerts, and art galleries.  If it wasn’t for her, I would not have a social life.  I’m so glad that I met this special friend in 2016.

Last year was also a good year for art making.  In total, I managed to create 44 watercolour paintings.   The majority of them were small, measuring 6 X 9.  I painted many things from  birds, to landscapes to images of mental illness.  Equally productive, I took over 81 photographs in 2016.  Most of the photographs were of flowers and plants, but some were of architecture and infrastructure, and a few of people.  I also experimented with motion photography or blurring effect.  They resulted in pretty interesting images.  Productivity-wise, I think I did pretty well in creating art in 2016.  One thing I will work on for the future is to market and potentially sell my work.

2016 was overall a good year for me.  I will continue to live a healthy and active life, and hope to make new friends and more art in 2017.

Leave a Reply

