Hopes for 2017

The arrival of a new year means new goals or hopes for the new year.

My first goal for 2017 is to finish revising and editing my novel.  I started writing in 2015 and it has taken about a year and half to finish my first draft.  The story is about a schizophrenic graduate student who is trying to get his PhD, but is derailed by two psychotic episodes.  It mirrors my own life in a lot of ways.  So far the revising/editing is going quite slowly.  I also have times when I think the story wouldn’t work or it will get rejected.  Nevertheless, I have to remind myself to think positively and plow through.  I’m hoping to have a revised version for a friend to read to get her input and feedback by the end of the year.

In 2017, I hope to earn some income from my art work.  Currently, I am able to produce one watercolour a week.  I can also generate a few photos a week or every other week.  The most important thing is that I have to find a way to market my work and start selling it.  I know there are websites for selling art work, and that might be the likely way I will go.  I could also build my own website to show and sell my art work, but of course that would mean I need to invest some money.  I’m just anxious that I won’t be able to sell most of my work.  Negativity aside, I guess it’s worth a try.

This year I would also like to learn and master Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator.  I will be taking some courses on Lynda.com that teaches these programs.  The only problem is that I currently don’t have them installed on my laptop.  To access them I would have to fork over about $600 a year.  It’s a big investment, but I think it will probably be worth it in the end.  I hope to use these software to enhance my photos and make digital art.

My final hope is to find another close friend in 2017.  I really only have one friend that I socialize with.  Having another good friend would be nice.  Someone to go for coffee, lunch, or visit the gallery with.  I’m not sure how I will meet this friend but I will keep looking.

It’s clear that the main theme of 2017 is art.  I just hope that I will have success with creative writing, painting and photography in the new year.  Here’s to creating!

Leave a Reply

